One Word 2014~Mission

Some of you that have followed me since last year may remember that I do not make New Years Resolutions anymore.  This is going on the third year that I have chosen to do something different.  Instead I pick a One Word focus for the year.

Why I choose to use One Word?

Some of you may think this is silly, or that it is the same thing.  I am here to assure you that it is not the same.  Typically when I made resolutions they were not in the same areas of life, and they were easy forgotten after a short time.  I have found that One Word makes me focus on a specific area, and blogging about it once a month also keeps me accountable to record and pay attention to the changes.  I join up with One Word 365 to link up my posts.  Every one should choose One Word because it helps you maintain focus and enables you to see much progress in the things you want to improve in your life.

So after spending weeks trying to figure out my word, and asking God to show me what my focus should be for 2014, I have a word.  I have to admit that this year I did not feel God clearly give me a word, like I did last year.  I tossed around a few ideas but none of them felt right.  I finally ended up choosing the word: Mission.  Of course, if God chooses to give me another word this is subject to change.

Mission

I have to admit I am not sure where I originally got the idea to use the word Mission.  It was probably in something I read recently, but I read so much I can’t point to the specific source.  As I began to think on it though it simply seemed to fit.

First let’s look at the definition of Mission:

  1. a sending; a charge to go and perform a specific service or duty
  2. That with which a messenger or agent is charged; an errand; business or duty on which one is sent; a commission.
  3. the service or duty for which one is sent
  4. a self-imposed duty or function
  5. an organized effort for the spread of religion in foreign lands

Why Mission?

As I thought on this I realized that it speaks to me on several levels.  First it speaks to me on the fact that it is part of the great commission. Matthew 28:19-20.  That would be the sending of the Word to all the world.

It also was appealing because it is a continuation of sorts from last years word.  Then it seems to encompass all the things that I see God doing in my life now.  Things that a year ago I would not have anticipated.  It has smaller goals I can make and it still keeps me focused on what God is doing.  It will also offer enough flexibility that if God changes my direction in any way, I can still follow this word.

My Goals

So how do I intend to walk this out, and what could I possibly do to focus on my mission?  I am glad you asked. :)  My first thing is to live out Gods plan for my life.  It will allow me to continue to learn as much of the Bible as I can and focus on those things important to the Kingdom. It will let me focus on using my time wisely so that I can best work on the things God has laid before me.

Those things before me at this time include to:

  • Blog more effectively and intentionally.
  • Seeing how God brings things together to have me go to the Congo
  • Start an online business using my skills to become a Virtual Assistant.
  • Completely write a devotional for those who suffer with depression or mental illness
  • Make time for writing fiction also and just improve my writing skills
  • Serve joyfully and in areas where I feel are a good fit for me, and not feel burdened by obligations because of the opinions of others
  • And making time to read the books on my shelves that I have yet to read.

All of this talk on Mission reminds me of a quote my Pastor shared earlier this year, and I realized it was something I wanted to embrace.

Missionaryidentity

Have you picked a One Word focus?  I would love to hear what you have picked and why?

Commentbutton2

signature

2 thoughts on “One Word 2014~Mission

  1. Pingback: Consistent: My One Word for 2014 | Life's Adventures

  2. Pingback: One Word | The Pure Sacrifice

Share Your Thoughts

