Out of the Box

One thing I see over and over and over is how I have a tendency to try to compartmentalize my life to fit only certain things on this blog.  However life simply does not work that way.  Since this blog encompasses my personal walk with Christ there are times when the focus shift a bit, and I will  not try to prevent that.

Since the last week of December God has changed me in a way that has drawn my interest towards getting healthier.  Yet in the past the topic would bore me, or I simply could care less.  I am overweight and out of shape and have been for many years.

I was struggling to try not to write about it because I thought it could turn away those of you who like my digging deeper into scripture and I didn’t know how to combine the two.

Then I remembered Daniel, when He and his friends were brought to the Kings palace to be educated.

But Daniel purposed in his heart that he would not defile himself with the portion of the king’s delicacies, nor with the wine which he drank; therefore he requested of the chief of the eunuchs that he might not defile himself. ~Daniel 1:8

Daniel purposed that he would not defile himself.  He arranged to eat vegetables and drink water, and they were found to look better than the others.

Can I be honest, in todays modern world the foods we eat are killing us.  I’m not saying that we must give up and become vegetarians, but I think that we need to educate ourselves and become aware of what we are doing to our bodies.

Or do you not know that your body is the temple of the Holy Spirit who is in you, whom you have from God, and you are not your own?For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s. ~1 Corinthians 6:19-20

Those are not my words, but straight from scripture.  I have made some healthy goals that I want to reach starting with a healthier diet.  I will do a sugar cleanse, and then I want to go gluten-free.  While my goals may not pertain to you, I also want to share with you some of what I am learning in the weeks to come.  Topics like

  • Food Addiction (and how foods are designed to be addictive)
  • Mindfulness and Eating
  • Dangers of Gluten
  • Sugar is poisoning our bodies

Yet I want to reassure you that I will still be digging into scripture.  I don’t know enough to talk about health for long.  I just want to share the things I am learning and how I am being changed as a result.

signature

3 thoughts on “Out of the Box

  1. Hi Deanna! I had to come visit you on WordPress since you have been such a good WP buddy to me! Thank you for that! I pray your desire for better health is a journey which is both baklanced and blessed. Since we are sisters (in Christ), WordPress Buddies (thank you!) let’s be friends! Sending a Hug with thanks!

  2. Pingback: One Word | The Pure Sacrifice

Share Your Thoughts

