Think about it

Thinkaboutit

Sometimes I think we miss it in really big ways.  We try to do well and we try to be careful, and we give the appearance of doing well.  But the bible tells us clearly that Jesus knows our thoughts.  Many times I think we tend to neglect our thought life, considering it as unimportant.

However what we think about and what we meditate on, those things will come out in our actions, deeds, and words.  I know that I used to think about whatever I wanted, not trying to guard my thoughts, or control them, so I know from experience how that can get a person into trouble.

I was good, because within my mind I could have long discussions with people about why they were judging me a certain way, or what they found lacking in me.  What I didn’t realize was as long as I engaged in this behavior in my mind, that I was acting in such a different way towards that person that they knew something was wrong.  For in my mind I created a fight that never happened, and  then I became defensive easily when talking, or I felt slighted, and that came across in my actions.

Much in the way that my behavior betrayed my thoughts to others, well the evil we think in our hearts is apparent to God.  We may think we have fooled those at church or in the community, but God knows our thoughts and our hearts.  This is addressed in scripture in Matthew 9:4, “But Jesus, knowing their thoughts, said, “Why do you think evil in your hearts?”

Sometimes I think we often feel that we are getting away with it, if we only don’t speak it.  However this is not the case, not speaking evil, does not keep something from not being evil.  We really need to begin to think about what we are thinking about.

I know it may sound silly, but if we start to meditate on things, soon we follow that which we are meditating on.  So it is imperative to guard our thoughts and be sure to focus on the things of God, and not simply follow anything that pops into our heads.

Journey-NewTestamentSignature

2 thoughts on “Think about it

  1. “I know it may sound silly, but if we start to meditate on things, soon we follow that which we are meditating on. So it is imperative to guard our thoughts and be sure to focus on the things of God, and not simply follow anything that pops into our heads.”

    YES…this is so true. God’s been pressing on me lately to guard what is coming into my home, heart and mind. And guard it well. I think some of it may also be, because Jeremiah is getting old enough to understand and react to what he’s hearing on TV and through music. So I feel a burden, not just for myself, but for the heart and purity of my children.

    Thank you for the reminder, Deanna. A few things have snuck back in and He’s reminded me to push them back out again.

Share Your Thoughts

