The Father Provides

Birdpin

There is a section of scripture that is well known.  Most people know it as the scripture on worry.  I have also seen it that way.  But in my readings lately I have seen it differently. To me this piece of scripture in Matthew 6:25-34 speaks of Gods provision.

25 “Therefore I say to you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink; nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? 26 Look at the birds of the air, for they neither sow nor reap nor gather into barns; yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not of more value than they? 27 Which of you by worrying can add one cubit to his stature?
28 “So why do you worry about clothing? Consider the lilies of the field, how they grow: they neither toil nor spin; 29 and yet I say to you that even Solomon in all his glory was not arrayed like one of these. 30 Now if God so clothes the grass of the field, which today is, and tomorrow is thrown into the oven, will He not much more clothe you, O you of little faith?
31 “Therefore do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For after all these things the Gentiles seek. For your heavenly Father knows that you need all these things. 33 But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about its own things. Sufficient for the day is its own trouble.

Don’t get me wrong, I can see that it is about worry.  However as I read it I see how God can provide, without help from me.  God will provide food, clothing, and pretty much all I need.  I guess it may stand out to me more because I have seen Gods provision in my life in great ways.

Some of you know that I am unemployed and have no source of income coming in, well it has been this way for awhile.  Yet in that I have not wanted for nothing.  Yes, some of my clothes are getting worn, but I have not done without, and more comes in before I completely wear out another pair.  I have a place to lay my head, and shoes for my feet.  I never go hungry, ever!

I think also the fact that I am on the lookout for God to provide a way to go to the Congo, where He has said I can be His hands and feet, when I am not working and have no way of setting money back has left me sensitive to this passage.  I know that I have been taught that if God requests it, then He will provide it.

To me this verse is just good proof, of how God can provide, and that it isn’t my job to stress about providing for myself.  My job is to do what I can, and leave the rest to God, the biggest part of my job is to simply believe.

SignatureJourney-NewTestament

5 thoughts on “The Father Provides

    • I am glad that others find this a helpful as I have. I am seriously enjoying going deeper into the Word this way. Seeing things in a whole new light.

  1. And whenever we remove our sovereign Father from His proper place on the throne of our lives and try to exercise our own control over things instead, worry is the eventual result – because we are horribly poor substitutes for our Provider-God. Worry, in other words, is the result of ignoring God’s providence. Idolatry is when we take God off the throne and put ourselves there instead – and “worry” is prayer to our new “god”.

  2. Pingback: Journeying Through The New Testament | The Pure Sacrifice

Share Your Thoughts

