The Lord is My Pacesetter

From The Archives Originally Published Nov. 7, 2007

~~~~~~~~~~~~

In reading my devotions the other day I came across one in “God’s Little Devotional Journal for Women” that was talking about taking time for prayer. While this is a common topic I found that this particular devotion had a Japanese version of the Twenty-Third Psalm. I want you to read and meditate on this today as it presents a different view than what we would normally see when we read this:

The Lord is my pacesetter…I shall not rush
He makes me stop for quiet intervals
He provides me with images of stillness that restore my serenity
He leads me in the way of efficiency through calmness of mind, and his guidance is peace
Even though I have a great many things to accomplish each day, I will not fret, for his presence is here
His timelessness, His all importance will keep me in balance
He prepares refreshment and renewal in the midst of my activity by anointing my mind with the oils of tranquility.
My cup of joyous energy overflows
Truly harmony and effectiveness shall be the fruits of my hours for I shall walk in the pace of my Lord and dwell in his house forever

 

One thought on “The Lord is My Pacesetter

  1. Pingback: Top Posts of All-Time | The Pure Sacrifice

Share Your Thoughts

